My rock

She is going to be so mad at me for this.

Coaching is a pretty thankless profession. And I’m fine with that. That doesn’t make it, or me, very special. Most jobs in education are that way. But that’s beside the point. What I’m trying to say is that if you think being a coach is thankless, that’s nothing compared to being a coach’s wife.

fullsizerender-6

All the time commitments – long nights and weekends, trips to Nationals, training trips – it all dominoes onto her. Here I sit, managing another VB match. And she’s at home corralling two little ones, getting them fed and into bed, feeding the dog, and countless else.

I’ve always believed that it’s critical that I be the rock for my teams. I need to be a steady, predictable force. An athlete needs to be able to walk in my office and know that they can tell me absolutely anything and my reaction will be rational and respectful.

How do you think I’m able to do that? If I didn’t have her propping me up half the time, I’d slowly unravel. She’s my sounding board. She’s my proofreader. (Not this post though.) She keeps me in check.

Typically, she gets her 15 seconds of fame at our season ending banquet where I embarrass her and thank her in front of the entire team. That really isn’t enough for what she does though. She deserves to be embarrassed in front of the entire internet. I’ve been a head coach for 11 years now and she’s been with me the entire time. I can’t thank her enough.   That is so many nights where I stare off aimlessly thinking of how to fix an athletes technique or get them healthy. So many 10pm phone calls about everything under the sun.

And there she is, towing our two little ones, taping Go Williams! billboards on their back for the NESCAC Championships, baking cookies for the team BBQ, and teaching everyone to shut their phone off when they come over for dinner.

img_2828

I have so much more to say, but I think it’s smart to stop here. I’m not joking, I may get in trouble for this. I love coaching. I really do. But, honestly, I don’t know if I could have done this last 11 years without her. Thanks Mar.

Leave a Reply

