Goal Talks

Goal meeting time. 65 men and the seven women. Overall, anywhere from 70-100 hours of conversations. By far one of my favorite parts of the job. Nothing stokes my fire like the daily string of chats with passionate, hungry athletes.

It’s true. Everyone thinks I’m the one who motivates the team. That couldn’t be farther from the truth. They motivate me. They’re not here to help me achieve my goals. I’m here to help them achieve theirs. The more heart they pour into this team, the more they invest in each other – the hotter my fire burns.

It’s completely iterative. They want it, so I want it. I want it, so they want it. The relationship has to be codependent. Think about it. If this were a one-sided relationship, there is no way it would survive. I’m not physically or emotionally capable of motivating and driving a full team year round. I’d burn out in less than a season.

And no team can function if the athletes are constantly propping up their coach or the athletes are making all the decisions. It’s the athlete’s responsibility to be the emotion, the heart, and the fire. It’s my job as coach to balance that with logic, rationality, and planning. We’re two sides of the same coin.

I’m sure that my yoga-instructor wife will have so many better metaphors around balance, homeostasis, and peace, but this is the best I can do right now.

Leave a Reply

